The Department of History was introduced with the establishment of the college in 1973. Since then the UG General Course in History was continued till 2002, the very year of the introduction of the UG Honours Course in this subject. Therefore, at present the UG General and Honours Courses have been running. Most of the students of the department belong to the district, bankura and a few to the neighbouring districts like Purulia, Medinipur and Burdwan. Two Full-time and three Part-time lecturers are trying their best to run the department smoothly. the departmental output is good.The success rate in the last years in Honours and General courses is nearly 80% and 85 % respectively. Apart from the University Examinations the department arranges a process of continuos assessment of the students like class tests at regular interval, Test Examination etc. Time to time historical tours or excursions are arranged by the department.

FACULTY (History Department)   

Prof. Uday Sankar Sarkar, Assistant Professor of History
Area of Specialisation: Economic History of Modern India
Qualification : M.A., M.Phil

Prof. Anabik Biswas, Assistant Professor of History
Qualification : M.A., B.Ed, M.Phil. 

Prof. Rituparna Chattopadhyay, Assistant Professor       

Sri Ashoke Kumar Hazra , Part-time Teacher 
Qualification : M.A., B.Ed.

Smt. Mousumi Banerjee , Part-Time Teacher 
Qualification : M.A.