The Department of Geography is a very promising department of Bankura Zilla Saradamani Mahila Mahavidyapith. Generally, Geography deals with space and so it is called spatial science. Gradually Geography Department captured its own place to the core at B.Z.S.M. Mahavidyapith and its name spread through the length and breadth, home and abroad.

A Brief History of the Department:
Bankura Zilla Saradamani Mahila Mahavidyapith is the lead college of the district where the department of Geography was set up. Pass course stream was introduced during the first year since its inception in 1983-84 session. Students started appearing in Honours course from 1987-88 under the rules and regulations of the University of Burdwan. The appointment of full time lecturer in a permanent post occurred in March 1985 for the second time. The vacancy of third post was filled up in 1996 on a permanent basis. There is one laboratory attendant to manage the department affairs and to give him support in his uphill task, another laboratory attendant has been appointed on part time basis to man the department.
The result of this department in the University and other competitive examinations especially in College and School Service Commissions attracts students from various corners, not only from this district, but also from other remotest parts of the state, and beyond the borders of West Bengal. In different Honours Final Examinations of the University of Burdwan, our students have obtained high grades and distinctions.
Therefore, the department is understaffed , a high academic standard is the core theme of the department.

FACULTY (Geography Department)    

Prof. Shyamal Santra Assistant Professor
Dr. Abira Dutta Roy Assistant Professor
Smt. Sanchita Banerjee Part-time Teacher
Smt. Amrita Dey Part-time Teacher
Smt. Payel Kundu Guest Teacher
Smt. Sonali Patra Guest Teacher
Sir Santanu Mondal Guest Teacher